Emeritus Board Members

John W. Baird

John Baird is Chairman of the Board of Baird & Warner, Inc., the fourth generation Baird to be actively associated with this 142-year-old Chicago real estate firm. read more »

Robert E. Carlson

Robert Carlson retired as a partner of the Los Angeles office of Paul, Hastings, Janofsky & Walker after 50 years of practice. read more »

George Denny

George Denny is a partner of Halpern, Denny & Co., a private equity investment group based in Boston, which he co-founded in 1991. Prior to forming Halpern, Denny & Co., Mr. Denny was the Managing Director for Bain Holdings, an investment partnership formed by Bain & Company. read more »

Douglas Durst

Third-generation family member to run The Durst Organization, pioneering environmentally responsible design and building practices in New York City. read more »

William M. Evarts, Jr.

William Evarts Jr., is a retired partner in the New York law firm of Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman, and formerly a retired partner of Winthrop, Stimson, Putnam & Roberts. read more »

Douglas P. Ferguson

Douglas Ferguson is an attorney active in business, real estate, and entertainment law matters. He has served on the TPL board since its inception in 1973. read more »

Terese “Terry” Tarlton Hershey

Terese “Terry” Tarlton Hershey has been described as “a force of nature,” “a tireless advocate, imaginative visionary thinker,” and possessing “the ability to bring different interests together to resolve conflicts and reach consensus.” read more »

James S. Hoyte

James Hoyte is a recently retired senior administrator and lecturer in environmental policy at Harvard University read more »

Vivian R. Johnson

Eugene C. Lee

September 12, 1924 – April 27, 2011
Eugene Lee was an Emeritus member of the Board of Directors for The Trust for Public Land. Eugene Lee was professor emeritus of political science at the University of California, Berkeley, and was director of the Institute of Governmental Studies from 1967 to 1988. read more »

Stephen C. Morris

Charles M. “Clance” Peterson

Charles M. “Clance” Peterson is a partner with Peterson County LLC, a real estate investor and property developer. read more »

Douglass A. Raff

Douglass Raff is a principal of Riddell Williams P.S., a Seattle law firm, and a long-time environmental advocate. read more »

Roy Richards, Jr.

Chairman of Southwire Company; served as past president of the International Cablemakers Federation; past chair of the Georgia Chamber of Commerce. read more »

Marie Ridder

Marie Ridder serves on the Executive Committee of the Chesapeake Bay Foundation, and is a current member of the Word Wildlife Fund Council, the American Farmland Trust Council, and the Brookings Institute Council. read more »

Martin J. Rosen

Martin Rosen was president of the Trust for Public Land from 1978-1997. He was a founding member of TPL’s Board of Directors in 1972 and has served as chairman of the board. read more »

James D. Sano

James Sano is president of Geographic Expeditions, a San Francisco-based Adventure Travel and consulting company. read more »

Christopher Glenn Sawyer

Christopher Glenn Sawyer is a partner with Alston & Bird, specializing in corporate governance, real estate and conservation law. read more »

Martha M. Wyckoff

Martha Wyckoff is a community investor and strong supporter of land conservation. She is currently active on the Washington State Board for TPL and is immediate past Chair of the National Leadership Council, and was a member of the Board of Directors from 1996-2009. read more »